STADIUM STATUS

Lift Off

Your voice of Fogtown Sports.

As I’m listening to “Otis” for the 83th time (really, the 83rd time on my iTunes), the first single off Kanye West and Jay-Z’s future classic album Watch the Throne, I write to tell you…WELCOME!

Fogtown Sports is a long overdue project dedicated to my views on the world of sports, music, movies and whatever the hell I feel like talking about.  Although this will primarily be a sports blog, there will be times when my thoughts on subjects outside the realm of sports will need to be in writing. In those cases, you’ll see them on Fogtown.

For example, you’ll see an extensive and detailed review of Watch the Throne after I’ve locked myself up in my room for 30 hours straight with my Beats by Dre headphones on. I’m sure you’ll be treated to my top movies of the summer once the season is over, and don’t be surprised if you see an article in the world of pop culture, because there isn’t NEARLY enough of that around already.

Who am I you ask? My name is Jordan Ramirez. I’m a 19 year old aspiring sports journalist who has lived in the Bay Area his whole life. I attended Bellarmine College Prep in San Jose and currently attend the sports powerhouse that is San Jose State University (Home of the Budget Cuts…err…Spartans…). I’m the oldest of five children, clearly the best looking one and the only one who has successfully been on national TV (That story later). I currently write for WarriorsWorld.net, the best Warriors site on the internet. Seriously, If you like the Warriors, a great layout, skilled writers, great interviews and an overall dope time on the net, hit up WarriorsWorld.

My favorite artist in the world is Kanye West. People who follow me on Twitter (@JRAM_91) know already how much I admire his work and have times been told to “#pause” from Kanye (You know who you are). If you don’t know my obsession with Kanye…you will. I even visit and write for a Kanye fan site (kanyetothe.com). He’s the most innovative, genius, creative, interesting, perplexing person in the music industry today. For these reasons and more I find a great connection to his music. Not to say I don’t listen to other genres and artists, but the conversation starts and ends with Kanye.

Besides Kanye West my favorite artists (in no particular order) are Michael Jackson, Prince, Kid Cudi, Jay-Z, Frank Sinatra, 2Pac, Drake, Gang Starr, Lupe Fiasco, Lil Wayne, Usher, Eminem, Alicia Keys, Marvin Gaye, Big Sean, Common, Rihanna, Frank Ocean, Pusha T, Chris Brown, John Legend, Katy Perry (Haters come at me!), Justin Timberlake, Sade, T.I. and The Weeknd. If you have any or all of these artists on your iPod, we’re in for a good time.

The favorite movies question usually follows music, so here it goes: Good Will Hunting, Pulp Fiction, Old School, The Dark Knight, Harold & Kumar (NPH FTW), Goodfellas, Space Jam, Lord of the Rings, The Other Guys, The Departed, Happy Gilmore and The Hangover. In interest of full disclosure, the hands down worst movie I’ve ever seen was Disaster Movie. Seriously, any movie that ends with “Movie” probably isn’t a good bet for an Oscar. Even though my fiancé to be Kim Kardashian had a small role, it wasn’t enough to save the debacle that was this sad, pitiful hour and a half. How Hollywood approves of these movies is beyond me…but I digress.

My sports background you ask? I’ve always been able to play sports on some sort of competitive level. Heck, some kids even called me “Peja” in middle school because of my three point shot on the court (True story). But interestingly enough, basketball isn’t my favorite sport, golf is. I started playing golf when I was seven, kept with it, competed on local and national levels and was once on national TV because of it. OK, here’s that story: I competed in Golf Channel’s Drive, Chip & Putt Competition when I was 9. This was a national skills competition that tested all aspects of the game (Think of combining all the events during NBA All Star Weekend and you pretty much get the gist of it). I swept the local competition, won 1st place and earned a spot in nationals. I flew to Oregon a month later, and during the long drive facet of the competition they filmed me, asked me who my favorite golfer was (Tiger Woods) and saw my gorgeous, flawless swing on The Golf Channel later that week when they aired it on national TV. It was the greatest 20 seconds The Golf Channel has ever aired. If you haven’t caught on yet of my sarcasm by the way, please do. I use it a lot. The trophy still sits in my trophy case in my room and to this day the most cherished, proud moment of my golf career. **Holds for applause and utter disbelief of this incredible, soon to be made movie storyline**

I hope this blog keeps you entertained, confused, frustrated, happy, disgusted, sad, remorseful, pity or any feeling for that matter. That’s my goal. Whether it’s sports, movies, music, pop culture or whatever, if you’re reading this, I hope you feel and appreciate what I’ve put down on paper for you (well…not physically paper…no one uses that anymore really…newspapers aren’t even using those anymore…). What makes this blog different from others: it’s not limited to any topic, I have no slant or angle and I keep bring a certain personality to my writing. It’s different. It’s fun. And it’s for you.  I’ll primarily be talking about sports in the Bay Area, but that doesn’t mean I won’t extend my thoughts on why Lebron is still the best player in the world or why Tiger Woods will still break Jack’s record. Nothing is off limits.

Ever since I was young I thought to myself “How cool would that be? Getting paid to travel around and watch sports, then write about it. That’s my dream job.” This is the beginning of that dream job. I hope you can join me. Let’s have some fun.

Finally, huge props to Diebolt Designs for helping me out on the banner and layout of the site, he brought my vision for the site to reality. See his stuff at dieboltdesigns.wordpress.com.

— Jordan

Leave a Reply

